Lisa Lockhart

For the second year in a row, Circle native Lisa Lockhart won the barrel racing at The American Rodeo.

ARLINGTON, Texas - For the second year in a row, Montana native Lisa Lockhart won the barrel racing at The American Rodeo.

Lockhart -- who is originally from Circle and who now lives in Oelrichs, S.D., with her family -- won the final round with a time of 14.726 seconds.

The win was worth $100,000.

She also won the inaugural event last year. The American is contested at AT&T Stadium, home of the Dallas Cowboys.

Aboard her prized buckskin horse Louie, Lockhart had the third-fastest qualifying time heading into the finals. She clinched the win when Michelle McLeod, the last barrel racer out, bumped a barrel.

"You really don't think about winning this once, let alone twice," said Lockhart in a post-event stadium interview.

Lockhart qualified for The American by placing second in the final world standings for 2014.

This year, she was accompanied by her daughter Alyssa on the awards stand.

"It's definitely a team effort," Lockhart said, sharing credit with her family. "It's so much sweeter this time having somebody here with me."

Lockhart was one of three repeat champions at the $2 million rodeo, joined by saddle bronc rider Wade Sundell and team roper Kaleb Driggers. Driggers roped with Travis Graves this year.

Get the latest sports news and scores sent to your email inbox

Bareback champion Taylor Price and tie-down roping winner Reese Riemer split a $1 million bonus. Both had to go through the qualifying process to reach The American.

Other winners were Silvano Alves in bull riding and steer wrestler K.C. Jones. Jones and Nick Guy both had final-run times of 4.12 seconds, with Jones being declared champion on the tie-breaker format.

Ty Erickson of Helena had a no time in the finals. He had a time of 4.08 seconds earlier in the day, the fastest among the field.

Matt Triplett of Columbia Falls got bucked off in 2.47 seconds in the early bull riding round, while Shelly Anzick of Livingston had a time of 14.859 seconds in barrel racing and did not advance to the final four.