BOZEMAN — Montana State’s 2020 football schedule blends the new, the old and the ancient, as the Bobcats unveiled that season’s complete schedule Tuesday in conjunction with the Big Sky Conference’s announcement of league slates through 2023.

The 2020 campaign begins with Long Island University, a first-year Division I FCS program in 2019 that calls the Northeast Conference home, visiting Bobcat Stadium on Sept. 5. LIU has played varsity football since 1957, and both teams’ 2020 season opener marks the furthest west LUI will venture for a football game.

After the opener, the Bobcats travel to play Utah, a school MSU faced regularly as fellow members of the Rocky Mountain Conference until 1937, before hosting Dixie State. The Bobcats and Rebels have met previously in 2007 and ’09.

The Dixie State game begins a three-game series between MSU and the transitioning FCS program. The Bobcats also face Dixie State on September 2, 2023, and August 31, 2024. MSU also announced FBS games at Wyoming (2021) and Oregon State (2022). First-time opponent Morehead State visits Bozeman to open the 2022 season.

Montana State’s 2020 Big Sky schedule begins at Portland State on Sept. 26, and also features road trips to Weber State, Eastern Washington and Montana (Nov. 21). The Bobcats host Northern Colorado, Cal Poly, Idaho State and Idaho that season.

Kickoff times and game designations such as homecoming for all seasons beyond 2019 will be announced at a future date. The Big Sky Conference’s full 2020-23 schedules for MSU are as follows:


Sept. 5: Long Island Post

Sept. 12: at Utah

Sept. 19: Dixie State

Sept. 26: at Portland State

Oct. 3: Northern Colorado

Oct. 10: Cal Poly

Oct. 17: at Weber State

Oct. 24: Idaho State

Oct. 31: Open

Nov. 7: at Eastern Washington

Nov. 14: Idaho

Nov. 21: at Montana


Sept. 4: at Wyoming

Sept. 25: at Southern Utah

Oct. 9: Eastern Washington

Oct. 16: at Sacramento State

Oct. 23: Northern Arizona

Oct. 30: UC Davis

Nov. 6: at Idaho

Nov. 13: at Northern Colorado

Nov. 20: Montana


Sept. 3: Morehead State

Sept. 17: at Oregon State

Sept. 24: Portland State

Oct. 1: at Idaho State

Oct. 8: at UC Davis

Oct. 15: Weber State

Oct. 22: Cal Poly

Oct. 29: at Northern Arizona

Nov. 12: Northern Colorado

Nov. 19: at Montana


Sept. 2: Dixie State

Sept. 23: Southern Utah

Oct. 7: at Eastern Washington

Oct. 14: Idaho State

Oct. 21: at Cal Poly

Oct. 28: at Northern Colorado

Nov. 4: Sacramento State

Nov. 11: at Idaho

Nov. 18: Montana