Hamilton rejects mill levies - School district election results

2010-05-05T09:47:00Z Hamilton rejects mill levies - School district election resultsby Will Moss - Staff Reporter Ravalli Republic
May 05, 2010 9:47 am  • 

Valley voters cast their ballots in Tuesday's valley-wide school district elections, shuffling school boards and, in Hamilton, rejecting two high-profile mill levy requests.

Hamilton voters seemed to vote on the district levies for technology and building funds as a pair, voting down both by similar margins.

The $235,000 technology levy was rejected by a vote of 1,311 to 1,012 while the $1 million building reserve levy was voted down 1,309 to 1,018.

Hamilton School Board candidates Demaris Moore and Bonnie Wickham were voted into three-year terms receiving 1,186 and 1,608 votes respectively, with 27 write-in candidates also receiving votes.

The Hamilton School District saw a voter turnout of 20.51 percent.

In Stevensville, Kevin Beller defeated Melissa Sundberg 264 to 140 for the school board seat vacated by Ed Cummings, while in Lone Rock Kim Tiplady and Dan Metully filled the two open board seats receiving 97 and 93 votes, respectively, while Penny Bertram received 81 votes.

In the Victor school elections, Belle Burrington and Roy Perry were elected to three-year board terms receiving 170 and 109 votes respectively, defeating Shaun Lamb and Lucianne Brieger who received 95 and 86 votes respectively.

Voter turnout in Victor was approximately 8 percent.

In Darby, Kate Duggan was elected and Erik Abrahamsen was reelected to the board with 300 and 248 votes respectively, defeating Robert Louviere who received 192 votes. 

Staff reporter Will Moss can be reached at 363-3300 or wmoss@ravallirepublic.com

Copyright 2015 Ravalli Republic. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick